brendala: (BOOK)
Talespin “Drumming Up Business” read-along audiobook

I snagged an unopened copy of this old Talespin read-along audiobook and I thought I’d put it up here for fellow nostalgic Disney Afternoon fans to enjoy.



And here are the full size scans of the book’s pages (in case you want a closer look at them)

Read more... )
brendala: (BOOK)
So, I FINALLY got my hands on an issue of the old Talespin comic series that I've been trying to find for ages....



....and I've been wanting to find it because this story was written by one of the show writers and it gives us some back story on Kit and Molly that the show never touched on. And, IMO, reading this comic felt like getting the finale episode of Talespin that never happened (and likely never will considering the legal limbo surrounding the Jungle Book characters and the fact that BOOM Comics is no longer allowed to touch the Disney titles).

I think every fan of the series needs to read this. So I scanned it and put it here.

WARNING!
If you love the show (and if you're a big fan of Kit and/or Molly) you might wanna have a tissue or two handy.

On to the scans!

Kickass story under the cut.... )


I hope all the old-school Disney Afternoon fans got a kick out of this. I've been tracking this comic down for AGES and it was worth every bit of effort!
....and, believe it or not, I only paid $1.60 for it! SCORE!!!!
brendala: (Carmelita icon)
For anyone out there who has an interest in the Sly Cooper franchise but doesn't want to invest the time and/or money it would take to play one of the games, these comics are a great introduction. They were published by Sucker Punch (the company behind the original game trilogy) back in 2005 and are currently out of print. Both comics are pretty short; but they do a great job introducing the reader to the characters and making you WANT to see more of them.
tl;dr: If you love fun, cartoony, and innocent action shows in the vein of Ducktales or Talespin, you will like this. I promise! :)

More importantly, the comic book format allows the series' one female lead (Inspector Carmelita Fox) to be fleshed out in a way the games just couldn't do (since Carmelita wasn't a playable character in the games at the time). She's a great character in the games; but she just SHINES with awesomeness here.

Issue One (prequel to the first and second games)



....Did I mention that this book has GORGEOUS art? Because it does!

Read more... )

ISSUE 2
This one is set after the second game (which had a surprisingly dark ending...) and is meant to lead into the third.




Read more... )
brendala: (BOOK GIRLS)


In this issue, the gang visits a cruise ship and an old-West mining town. We also get to see Scrappy acting like a violent dictator and Fred acting like a massive douchebag!!


Scans under the cut..... )

As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!
brendala: (BOOK)


In this issue the boys join the military and a yeti disrupts a peaceful ski trip

Scans under the cut..... )


As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit and/or a link would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!
brendala: (BOOK)
The Archie comics run marked the last time Scrappy was a regular character in a Scooby Doo series. Thankfully, unlike the TV shows he was a part of, his inclusion doesn't exclude Fred and/or Velma. So he's actually tolerable as a member of the gang.

This series also wasn't afraid to be loose and wacky when it came to the art. While it's not always pretty (or on model), it's at least interesting to look at.



In the premiere issue we find out that Daphne is an elitist when it comes to amusement parks. And then Fred and Shaggy go to prison!

Scans under the cut..... )



As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!
brendala: (BOOK)



In this issue, this happens....



You want context? Then read on....


Scans under the cut.... )
brendala: (BOOK)



In this issue, this happens....



You want context? Then read on....


Scans under the cut.... )
brendala: (BOOK)
I stumbled on this mini comic recently. It's a pocket sized book that has a reprinted Gold Key story inside it.

And the front cover has an amusing coloring error





Scans under the cut..... )


GAMES AND PUZZLES!!!


Fun under the cut... )
brendala: (BOOK)
I stumbled on this mini comic recently. It's a pocket sized book that has a reprinted Gold Key story inside it.

And the front cover has an amusing coloring error





Scans under the cut..... )


GAMES AND PUZZLES!!!


Fun under the cut... )
brendala: (BOOK)


In this issue, the gang tangles with a transportation pod, a not-so-scary scarecrow, and  then they learn how to use an animation camera.


Scans under the cut... )
brendala: (BOOK)


In this issue, the gang tangles with a transportation pod, a not-so-scary scarecrow, and  then they learn how to use an animation camera.


Scans under the cut... )
brendala: (BOOK)
[cross-posted to [livejournal.com profile] scooby_doo and [livejournal.com profile] dinkley_rogers ]





In this issue the gang fixes a haunted apartment building, they solve they mystery behind lemonade, and Dynomutt learns the hard way that fanboys can be jerks. And then Yogi Bear gives us a lesson on the animation process.

This comic also features an invitation to the Star Wars fan club! XD

Scans under the cut.... )


As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!
brendala: (BOOK)
[cross-posted to [livejournal.com profile] scooby_doo and [livejournal.com profile] dinkley_rogers ]





In this issue the gang fixes a haunted apartment building, they solve they mystery behind lemonade, and Dynomutt learns the hard way that fanboys can be jerks. And then Yogi Bear gives us a lesson on the animation process.

This comic also features an invitation to the Star Wars fan club! XD

Scans under the cut.... )


As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!
brendala: (Happy Daphne)




This issue is my new personal favorite! Mainly because it gives us a great insight into Daphne's character, the girls' relationship, and it does a surprisingly awesome job with a tired sexist story trope!


First up, the gang gets roped into an adventure with Candidate Dracula! And Scooby Doo gets political!

Scans under the cut.... )



This next story is just AWESOME. It's a Daphne-centric plot where she enters a beauty pageant. That description may sound lame. But this actually succeeds at being a great story, an insight into Daphne's character, and most importantly...
...it's a story centered on Daphne's good looks that doesn't exploit Daphne OR denigrate Velma!! That's right, a Scooby Doo comic published in 1974 is more realistic and respectful in it's treatment of female characters than a certain other Scooby cartoon that aired just a few weeks ago!!


Girl power under the cut..... )
brendala: (Happy Daphne)




This issue is my new personal favorite! Mainly because it gives us a great insight into Daphne's character, the girls' relationship, and it does a surprisingly awesome job with a tired sexist story trope!


First up, the gang gets roped into an adventure with Candidate Dracula! And Scooby Doo gets political!

Scans under the cut.... )



This next story is just AWESOME. It's a Daphne-centric plot where she enters a beauty pageant. That description may sound lame. But this actually succeeds at being a great story, an insight into Daphne's character, and most importantly...
...it's a story centered on Daphne's good looks that doesn't exploit Daphne OR denigrate Velma!! That's right, a Scooby Doo comic published in 1974 is more realistic and respectful in it's treatment of female characters than a certain other Scooby cartoon that aired just a few weeks ago!!


Girl power under the cut..... )
brendala: (Default)


In this issue the gang visit a theatre featuring old silent films and then they participate in a modern day gold rush.
After that, Dynomutt catches some stylish bank robbers and we get a lesson on animation from Huckleberry Hound! And more advertisements featuring half-naked men!!!

Scans under the cut.... )


As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!


brendala: (Default)


In this issue the gang visit a theatre featuring old silent films and then they participate in a modern day gold rush.
After that, Dynomutt catches some stylish bank robbers and we get a lesson on animation from Huckleberry Hound! And more advertisements featuring half-naked men!!!

Scans under the cut.... )


As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!


brendala: (BOOK)


In this issue the gang contends with an Egyptian mummy, Scooby Doo busts up a counterfeiting ring, and DynoMutt & Blue Falcon help contain a jail break.

Plus, a couple more bizarre old advertisements!

Scans under the cut..... )

As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!
brendala: (BOOK)


In this issue the gang contends with an Egyptian mummy, Scooby Doo busts up a counterfeiting ring, and DynoMutt & Blue Falcon help contain a jail break.

Plus, a couple more bizarre old advertisements!

Scans under the cut..... )

As always, I don't mind if people use these scans to make icons or whatever (I can't claim "ownership" of a book with characters that clearly aren't mine just because I scanned it). But credit would be much appreciated if you do opt to use them or show them off elsewhere. Thanks!

Profile

brendala: (Default)
brendala

December 2016

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728 293031

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 24th, 2017 08:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios